Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods T Bucket Interiors

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by tfeverfred, Aug 12, 2017.

1. wsdad

wsdad

Thanks for the detailed information. I'll be building some in the future and hadn't thought about what angle to make the back. Do you think it may need to lean back a little more if your legs are floor-level?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

loudbang likes this.
  2. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

From what I've seen, it's not so much as whether the seat is level. It's your back that you're trying to support in a comfortable position. A seat that's tilted back could probably do the same thing. But I'm no expert. I can only go by what I've seen.

In my daily car, with a fully electric seat, I have the bottom slightly raised in the front and the back is at a nice angle. If I can recreate that position in my T Bucket, I'd be more than happy.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2017
    loudbang likes this.
  3. RodStRace

RodStRace

There have been books written on proper ergonomics!
    While designers have standards that must fit a wide range of people, a custom built rod only has to fit you and maybe a few others.
    A quick search found this video, along with all the others in the sidebar.

this one is good too.

Obviously a bucket is limited in size, so it requires compromise. Your height (legs and torso) will make some more comfortable than others.

One thing you can try is go to a new car store and try out something with a multi-adjustable seating.
    Get it so it's really comfortable like the first video, then measure the various distances.
    Try to find something that has a low seat height, since we are trying not to sit 'on' a bucket, but 'in' it.
    Here's a diagram that's got a TON of measurements but is too big for the forum. This is what designers use.
    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-wJOVXln2isw/TgcyNJhNHEI/AAAAAAAAAAw/Vy7XsJXJXZY/s1600/Picture4.jpg