Register now to get rid of these ads!

Anyone still use Binks model 7 ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Stu D Baker, Jan 8, 2009.

1. Stu D Baker

Stu D Baker
    from Illinois

Just wondering if anybody still uses the old syphon feed spray guns. Personally, I've been using Sata gravity feed (HVLP) for several years. Back in the day, the Binks model 7 was in about every bodyshop. Stu

2. i've had mine for many years , maybe 25. it's still my favorite , but i'm not a professional painter

3. randydupree

randydupree
    from archer fl

i still use my 30 year old binks 7.
    i bought it new.

4. alchemy

alchemy

A couple years ago I bought a NICE Binks gun, used, at a flea market. Been saving it for that extra special paint job. They're traditional, right?

5. ridin dirty

ridin dirty

I think the Binks #7 gun will lay down the clear better but that is just my opinion . My son does my paint now with a gravity gun and likes the binks to clear with . I personally dont like the gravity for the trigger feel but I do like it that it doesnt waste paint into the air . We might try a bigger nozzle for clear on a test panel to see if we can get the clear to lay flatter and shinier for that real deep look . Less wet sanding and buffing .

6. yblock292

yblock292

Been using mine since early 70's shoots mini-flake like a champ with a 36 tip

7. Slag Kustom

Slag Kustom

great gun for laquer, still have mine but stopped using it when i got a devillbilss JGA

8. i have 2 of them-they were my gradfathers

Last edited: Jan 8, 2009
  9. bikersteve

bikersteve

The Binks was(is) a great gun for laquer, the Graco 700 would lay down centari like nobody's business, These days it's all gravity feed hvlps, but still have the binks, graco and a couple of sharpes (just in case)

10. We still fill ours with grape jelly and spray our toast with it.

Dave Mc, belair, BJR and 1 other person like this.
  11. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage