Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1933 Plymouth

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by CGuidotti, Sep 2, 2017.

1. CGuidotti

CGuidotti

I have a 33" Plymouth five window coupe that' I have been storing for 25 years. I think it's finally time to get it out and get started. Kicking around a few ideas. Would love to see some others that are in the build process. I'm thinking a 3" chop, no fenders, artillery wheels on bias ply style tires, and retain the Plymouth grill and hood. Plymouth frame or 32" ford ? Engine ? Definitely not a small block chevy. Not sold on a Hemi (expensive) ? Have a 383 big block ? Kind of want to stay a little more traditional on the engine. Let's see your builds

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

oliver westlund likes this.
  2. Why would you consider a '32 Ford frame? The Plymouth frame was designed to fit the body, and it's a sturdy well-engineered frame. Driveline swaps will be easier on the Plymouth frame which has parallel leaf springs front and rear. I had a friend in high school back in the late '60s who had a '34 Plymouth sedan. He had an early '50s
    Rocket 88 Olds engine in it. The car had belonged to someone in his family who was a rural route mail carrier, special ordered with right hand drive. Wish I had some pictures of Ken's old Plymouth. He died years ago, and I don't know what became of the '34 Plymouth.

3. 34 plymouth fenderless.jpg
    this one aint bad
    the engine and stance is killer
    I would recommend moving the firewall back a few inches
    this would help the proportions, and allow the grill to be moved back a little
    these cars can spare a little leg room
    I like the roof not being filled on this one

4. does yours have the cool wavy mopar front axel

5. this came up under a 34 Plymouth search
    interesting

33 ply.png

6. CGuidotti

CGuidotti

Just tossing around a few ideas. Would have been cool to see some pictures of the sedan, sounds like a nice car