Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs I finished my Mysterion clone and have a book contract!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by willys36, Jan 4, 2016.

1. it's original amateur hour so don't know how to tour. Once I get the trailer thing altogether I will start looking for places that it might fit.

You guys made me paranoid about the trailer getting stolen so I studied up on trailer hitch locks. YouTube search showed every lock out there can be defeated by a 3rd grader with a hammer, crowbar and about 30 spare seconds. I think I came up with my own design that will take at least 90 seconds to defeat so will try it out, and a wheel lock that I think is pretty fool proof for the typical hit and run thug anyway. And will scratch the paint job, just leave the trailer raw with a couple of bare Bondo patches.

loudbang likes this.
  2. Atomic Kustom

Atomic Kustom

Check out Titan Grip wheel locks

loudbang likes this.
  3. Those are strong alright but all a thief has to do is take off that wheel and install a spare and he is off and running (stealing). I guess you could put a secondary chain from that lock to the frame. There are versions that put a cover over the lug bolts when locking on but I'm sure they can be quickly defeated by a pro too. Like most of the rest of the systems, those will keep an honest thief honest.

loudbang likes this.
  4. OK, I am having trouble believing that hauling a car in a trailer is tougher than driving in on our highways and byways that are in need of initiation of a few 'shovel ready jobs'. I believe that show cars that fall apart in a trailer are just too poorly built for ANY move. I tried to build my version of the Mysterion with a robust 2x4 rectangular tubing hot rod type frame hidden behind those great chrome façade rails. If trailering were that much more tough on cars, how does your local Yugo franchise get away with trucking new cars all over the country and not have them arriving as parts bins?