Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical VALSPAR TRACTOR PAINT

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by rdynes01, Jul 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdynes01

rdynes01
    from colorado

I'm getting ready to paint my latest project and I'm going to use Valspar Tractor paint thru my HF purple gun. The Valspar TDS isn't clear on spray application so what will be a good reducer for it and what ratio to thin and I will be using their hardener also so how much of that should I add? Any tips or secrets from guys that have used this paint will be appreciated........Bob

2. jeffs64cat

jeffs64cat

I use tractor supply paint when paints my scale helicopters. I thin down with minerals spirits. I just mix so when my test spray is good. But if I'd have to say it's about 1/4 spirits to 3/4 paint. I spray thin coats at first to med at the end. I spray 6 coat. Hope this helps., I'm not a professional just a hobbyist.

Sent from my iPad using H.A.M.B.

3. Valspar Implement paint is a enamel so regular mineral sprites/paint thinner will be what you use for reducing the paint.

Enamels are slow drying so you might want to add some Japan Dryer to speed up the drying process,if you do use it sparingly.

As for spraying it I don't know the viscosity of the product but a rule of thumb is usually 1 to 4. HRP

Last edited: Jul 16, 2017
    Ric Dean, bondolero and HellsHotRods like this.
  4. sunbeam

sunbeam

My experience Alkyd enamel paints tend to fade quickly

5. A Boner

A Boner

Is it fake patina if you choose to use paint that "fades" quickly?

Ric Dean, brEad, Chili Phil and 3 others like this.
  6. indyjps

indyjps

6 parts valspar, 2 parts acetone, 1/4 part valspar enamel hardener. Shot this a lot of times.