Register now to get rid of these ads!

Features The 1955-1956 Plymouth and Dodge Thread

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MrBelvedere2, Feb 12, 2009.

1. monkeyspunk79

monkeyspunk79

I didn't see any in Canada, but there's several used ones here it the states on Car-Part.com that searches auto salvage yards for parts and compiles the listings for you. I've saved a screenshot with phone #'s and part#'s that may help. Sorry it turned out blurry. Good luck with your quest.

Attached Files:

2. AdamP26

AdamP26

I will give it a try. Thank you so much for your help, much appreciated.

3. kmrumedy

kmrumedy

Wow! I am so happy I found this thread. I am totally new to these cars and looking to learn about them. I have ordered a shop manual but it won't get here for another week or so. I have some quick maintenance questions before I read through the whole 50 pages here. Any help is appreciated.

Firstly the car - I guess it is a little bit of an unusual bird for the US folks. It is a 1956 Dodge Regent 2 Door Hardtop. I could only find 3 pictures of a 2 door HT Regent on the web. Outside and underneath in excellent condition. The nice condition of the underside was a pleasant surprise. Engine bay needs cleaning up. Only engine choice for 56 Canadian Hardtops was the flat 6. I assume this is a 251(?). Single brake cylinders always make me nervous. I am curious to know what others are doing to improve the braking system. The car is in transit and I won't get it for another 2 weeks.

First job is I just want to clean up engine bay and refresh all fluids. I did some research on gas and oil for flat 6's and got conflicting info. Hopefully you guys that actually own the same car can guide me.

Feel kind of silly asking these questions but better safe than sorry......

Gas - what octane are you using? It's a stock low compression engine so I thought 87 would be fine but other were saying put in premium. I am in Canada so premium goes as high as 94 here.