Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical What clutch slave?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mcmopar, Apr 18, 2017.

1. mcmopar

mcmopar
    from Strum, wi

I'm slowly but Shirley (don't call me Shirley) getting everything figured out. The next part to figure out is the slave cylinder.
    Here's the set up 1970 318, 1995 ax15 trans, with stock clutch and throw out bearing. It has a under floor pedal. I done alot of reading on different ways to go. When I get all the parts for my tremec I will get a McLeod bearing, but right now I want to get it running and driving for the summer.
    The question is what slave cylinder? I have limited space with no knowledge on this. Read alot of threads and no one says what slave, just what bearing they are using. One these had a little purple slave mounted to the tranny, and one said 85 Chevy truck. Once I have that then what about the from the pedal to the slave? Here's the area I'm working in and what it looks like. If we need more pics of the area let me know.
    Tony 20170418_074521.jpg 20170418_074506.jpg 20170418_074440.jpg

2. What does the stock slave look like for that?

3. Fordors

Fordors

The easy way looks to be using the OEM slave that bolts right up to the bellhousing. The master cylinder bore is important here, it needs to be smaller than the slave.
    The big issue appears to be the limited space for the clutch and brake master cylinders.

4. mcmopar

mcmopar
    from Strum, wi

Here is the master and the slave cylinder.[​IMG][​IMG]

5. mcmopar

mcmopar
    from Strum, wi

Fordors, the master for the brakes is mounted. I habe been looking at a wilwood one slave and master that are smaller. Problem with factory is size and it's a press fitting for the line not a screw in one.

6. treb11

treb11
    ALLIANCE MEMBER