Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Need to refinish the oak planks in my 52 pu bed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by blackanblue, Apr 3, 2017.

1. blackanblue

blackanblue

So I put a new bed in my 52 gmc a year ago, oak boards with steel painted rails and stained it with some high end oil based stain,not looking for the shiney gloss look, just want a useable bed that looks good. The stain I used was perfect color and finish but it had to endure a Canadian winter and suffered some bleach, what with snow and sun, and I get it wood doesn't last forever outside. Had to leave it outside due to the willys project,my question is what is your fav wood finish aside from tractor oil. Thanks Jim.

2. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

Marine varnish.
    Anything out in the elements will gray when moisture is present.

3. Los_Control

Los_Control
    from TX

As a carpenter, I have built many wood shade structures outdoor projects etc.. in the southwest New Mexico.
    Sikkens is what I love to use. It holds up better to the harsh sun then other products I have tried.
    I also prefer natural color. It looks a lil pale at first, but after a few years it darkens with age and is gorgeous. My flat bed will no doubt have sikkens on it.
    Also they sell a version without cetrol. You do not want that, it is cheaper and it wont last at all.
    You want the one with cetrol and it will last.
    And you just wipe it on raw wood. it may suck up the oil and require a second application.
    After time in harsh weather, you can see spots that might be dried up and need more, just wipe it on and will look like new again.

jnaki, pigfluxer and Texas Webb like this.
  4. blackanblue

blackanblue

Tryed some so called marine varnish with the uv protective stuff in it on a previous project and it peeled like a bad sunburn.

5. blackanblue

blackanblue

Thanks los control I will check it out

6. FrankenRodz

FrankenRodz