Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical WHAT ARE THE ODDS OF MATCHING OLDER PAINT?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HOTRODPRIMER, Feb 25, 2017.

1. I was referring to the BS part. HRP

2. OK bottom line is finding the right painter. Given that God made painters from 1 to 10 so how to find the 10!

You drive from shop to shop in order to ferret out Mr. Super Painter - what questions do you ask him?
    Getting recommendation at the paint supplier might help but unless you know the painter you still need something to point out Mr. Right Painter. How to find him? That's the question.

HOTRODPRIMER likes this.
  3. Gman0046

Gman0046

The best method I can think of is a first hand recommendation.

Gary

HOTRODPRIMER likes this.
  4. Lol,

If you ask 3 body men the same question you'll get 9 different answers

JimSibley, pat59 and HOTRODPRIMER like this.
  5. cavman

cavman

About 40 years ago I worked as a painter for one of the larger body shops in my town. When something older came in that needed just a spot touched up, or just a small repair, the painting was passed off to the oldest living painter I ever knew. Man, that guy must have been in his 60's. :) Anyway, he was known around these parts as the paint guru, and would just look at the job and go in the mixing room and come back with a perfect match. In Lacquer of course, for that's all he would use. Everything he painted matched perfectly.....for about six months, or until the job was paid for. Every spot job would fade at a different rate than the original. Very few looked great after a year or so. But the customers were happy when they first saw the match.

On those fancy cameras.....I once used the inside of the gas door for a match on a '65 Impala. They mixed a 1990 Yugo color. I must have been close,.... the car won best original paint at an all GM show the next year.