Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical King pin front ends...

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by HipCat427w, Feb 27, 2017.

1. HipCat427w

HipCat427w

Hey guys, I am a rookie builder as far as 50's cars. I'm a late 60's and 70's owner. As some of you know, my wife dragged home a 52' chevy styleline and we are working on all areas. We have it running pretty good and she loves the car!
    So, it's front end time. I'm thinking since the car is 65 years old and still steers "ok", the king pin front end should be fine for a 6/tree car.
    Are you guys running the king pin front converted to disc???...
    Is the mustang 2 front really like night and day or what???...
    What do you guys recomend for a sleepy 6/tree ladies car??...
    Thanks, Paul.... 2017-01-18 08.47.25.jpg

Bruce Fischer likes this.
  2. KoolKat-57

KoolKat-57
    from Dublin, OH

Nothing wrong with a king pin front end that is in good condition.
    Lots of disc brake conversions available.
    Mustang II front ends are not always the best way to go, nice for the street rod crowd!
    My '57 Pontiac is king pin and drives very well.
    KK

3. Cosmo49

Cosmo49

I've got 110,000 miles on a daily driver/only vehicle '49 Chevy 1/2 ton, king pin front end, Huck brakes. Those companies will sell you 'upgrades' that you do not need, they will take your money.

bigblk1177 and kbgreen like this.
  4. HipCat427w

HipCat427w

Thanks you guys. We are leaning toward the king pin rebuild and disc conversion....

5. woodiewagon46

woodiewagon46
    from New York

I agree with the stock front end rebuild. Kanter , www.kanter.com has the complete kits in several varieties from king pins only to a complete rebuild. They also have a disc brake conversion kit.

golferforpar likes this.
  6. Moriarity

Moriarity
    SUPER MODERATOR
    Staff Member

My corvette has the same king pin front as your Chevy. Mine drives great and stops fine with the stock drum brakes [​IMG][​IMG]