Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Wanting to learn to weld

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jeremy W, Feb 21, 2017.

1. DDDenny

DDDenny
    from oregon

If you get a better machine, you'll surprise yourself at what you "thought" you needed a welder for, you'll starting looking for stuff to weld.
    I bought my Millermatic 200 Mig in the late 80's and "taught" myself to weld with some self help type books. I was a machinist and had to make components that got welded together so I had already learned the importance of the fit-up of parts.
    Never have had the greatest eyesight (bad now) but I got by for my own needs. The very first thing I built was my welding table and I have to say it really turned out nice.
    One thing that was mentioned is using a true gas machine in an outdoors environment, even inside with the door open on a windy day, steps need to be taken to block air movement around the weld site, even a fan can have an effect on weld quality.
    Heavy cardboard from an appliance box works great for temporary air shielding.
    Happy welding.

2. I was in the same spot a couple years ago, I did a lot of reading on this wonderful board and decided on the Hobart 140. It seemed like a good unit for the money and could grow with me for a while. I'm not doing this for a living, just hobby work. It's been fun and couldn't be happier with my set up

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

3. BadgeZ28

BadgeZ28
    from Oregon

I will throw in getting a decent auto darkening helmet. I use Mig welders. Easier to learn IMO.

4. FAKKY

FAKKY

I'm in same boat. Want to learn to weld my cross member since I'm doing g basically most things on my truck.

Started with a HF 90a. It's OK but always had me guessing how much of the bad welds are me and how much is machine.

Did a lot of research ... Bought a tweco 211i.