Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects My Latest project 29 A-V8 Roadster.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Fordgasser1, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Fordgasser1

Fordgasser1
    from Jersey

I wasn't going to post a build thread on this 29 A-v8 but friends have been bugging me to start one..I've never built a Model A before so its gonna be a fun,learning experience for me..I doubt I'll be covering any new territory that hasn't been done already.. Just gonna build a nice,simple v-8 roadster to run at TroG,dirt drags and Jalopy Showdown next season.
    So,lets get started!

A good friend gave me a stock model A rolling frame as a starting point..Had some cracks and messed up front crossmember that needed some straightening. Once I got in apart,I set it up on some stands and leveled it and squared it up with a porta power. parts33 004.JPG
    Using a stock model a rear and working forward, I started mocking things up to figure out where the trans crossmember and engine mounts will need to go.. model a 001.JPG
    model a 002.JPG
    I went to the junkyard and found an 1949 F-1 panel truck which gave up her trans crossmember and brake/clutch pedals..I cut it down to fit inside the Model A framerails with tabs to weld in place.The pedal holes will have to be relocated to fit in the correct spot.. model a 006.JPG More mocking up with a stock A steering column..Radiator in place to check for fan clearance. model a 004.JPG

2. Fordgasser1

Fordgasser1
    from Jersey

Once I had all the engine spacing where I wanted it,I cooked up some quickie engine mounts tardel style.
    modela grille 009.JPG

Some more detailed trans crossmember pics
    modela grille 011.JPG
    modela grille 013.JPG
    modela grille 014.JPG
    Then I cut down a 34 center crossmember for the front wishbone ball mount and mounted it to the tranny crossmember. I need to add some gussetts for strength but you get the idea.
    modela grille 012.JPG