Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Attn metal fab guys

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Rocket Man 57, Jan 22, 2017.

1. Rocket Man 57

Rocket Man 57

Kinda new around here so I'm not sure how or where to ask, but here it goes. I've been a mechanic for a while but I've just gotten in to the hobby. I have a pretty fair set of tools as far as wrenches and the likes at home so I'm covered there. I'm wanting to start getting in to metal fab since it opens so many more options as far as customization. So far I have a small mig welder and an oxy-acetylene torch. I'm trying to figure out what I should get next. I've been looking at a shrinker/stretcher or a bead roller. I would love an english wheel, but I don't think I have the room to use one. I've got a one car garage which is currently quite full with a 57 olds so any new tool must be able to be put away somewhere. So what tool do you guys recommend I add to the collection next?

2. RMONTY

RMONTY

What do you want to do first to your car? Do you have the tools that are needed for that? Start with what you got, make due until you can hone your skills with the minimal amount of tools, make some money doing it, and buy a tool that will cut your time the most, then do it all over again, and again.

3. Go with a Tuck Puck and a planishing hammer instead of the English wheel. pick up some used body hammers and about anything metal can be used for a dolly just use your imagination. Check out my build thread all the matl work was done with out a lot of expensive tools. Have fun even the mistakes you make you will learn from Hobo Jim

clunker likes this.
  4. choptop40

choptop40
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

What he said ....cool you're getting into the metal fab..I cut my teeth on basic tools . Amazing the knowledge that's available online , videos and more...you'll love the Hamb....best place on earth and the nicest people...keep us posted when you start your first build....

5. 117harv

117harv