Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 1947 dodge engine issues

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Louie dukes dallas, Oct 23, 2016.

1. Hello im stuck and im almost giving up ...im in dallas tx and i got a 1947 dodge deluxe long story short i blew my engine ..so i bought another and rebuilt it only thing is my bearings keep goin out i put standard but im thinking i might need a little bigger size ..the car starts up good but as soon as i go in freeway number 6 and 3 go out any help would be great thanks

2. that's a little hard to follow , they way i read it you rebuilt a motor with standard size bearings and you now think you need a different size....is that correct?

and you didn't measure your crankshaft accurately before selecting the bearings ?

Louie dukes dallas likes this.
  3. Yes thats what i meant and no didnt measure this is my first time ever rebuilding a flathead since i couldnt find no one that does flatheads around here ..i just had to do it i have the book and did it to the best i could ...how would i mesure crank

4. with a micrometer

5. F&J

F&J

You need to borrow a micrometer. Then measure each journal all the way around, because the journals are probably egg shaped, no longer round.

and " highway"...these cars were not meant to be run at todays speeds on highway, unless you get an overdrive, or better gears in the rear end

6. Flat Six Fix

Flat Six Fix

A healthy Chrysler flathead 6 cylinder engine, can cruise on a highway at 3000 rpm all day long, unlike the other 2 big manufacturers of the day, this engine had a steel crank and balanced well, bearing inserts ( not babbit poured) full oil pressure to engine, not dipper splash, aluminum alloy pistons, water distribution tube, hardened valve seats.
    This car, had IFS, and they handle and ride well, if all in good shape, Lockheeed dual wheel cyl front brakes, very good again in good condition and adjusted correctly.