Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects My Coupe Build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Flathead Dave, Feb 21, 2016.

1. Flathead Dave

Flathead Dave
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from So. Cal.

This is what I'm doing so far;
    27 Coupe on a 28-29 frame w/ rear coil overs.
    51 8BA w/C4 trans/Lokar shifter
    9" Rear End

Motor runs fine. 1969 Trans was rebuilt. Rear end is out of a 1978 Cougar(so I was told).
    Frame was built here, in Ontario, CA. by Classic Street Rod MFG.

I bought the motor from a guy for $500. It had a cracked head and that pesky crack in the block from the water hole to the bolt hole. Nothing to worry about. It's completely stock and I converted it to 12v.

I have been collecting parts for the Coupe for almost five years. I pretty much have them all. I need to make the wood frames for the windows and I might just buy the top roof wood. I manufactured the trunk floor because the original replacement piece is very flimsy and really doesn't fit properly for hot rodding. I had to make a few small pieces that were missing. I got lucky and only had to replace the sub frame cross members. The sub frame rails are in very good condition.

There was minimal rust in the fender welds and doors. The top was chopped off so I welded it back on. The guy chopped it to make a high boy out of it and I was lucky that he kept the top.

I found the tires at the Pomona Swap Meet. The aluminum wheels are from a 1992 Ford Explorer and they were pretty nasty when I got them from the junk yard. A lot of road rash and it took a lot of sanding and elbow grease got them looking almost new. I did pretty good work on them.

I got the Lokar shifter at the Long Beach Swap Meet pretty cheap. Only $140.

Gave the guy $25 for the trans and it did work but I decided to have it rebuilt anyway.