Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical What school to go to?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bigjoe21, Jul 19, 2016.

1. bigjoe21

bigjoe21
    from arizona

Hello all, I am new to the board and thought I would ask and see what the group had to say about learning the trade.

Now I am not a spring chicken, I am a active duty vet about to retire and I have my GI Bill to use. I thought long and hard about it and decided I don't want to go out into a job I don't love and would rather do what I enjoy, wrenching on cars and building things.

I have been looking into schools, Wyotech, McPherson College, Penn College, Ohio Tech etc, and I am trying to figure out which is the best way to go. I have used the search button and came upon some dated threads on some of these but they were filled more with philosophy than with strong advice. While a good lesson is not lost on me, I have the GI Bill to pay my way and I want to learn as soon as possible and spend as much time as I can getting into car building. I have already spent 20 years in a profession so I got that chapter in life done, time to move on.

So any solid thoughts on these schools or maybe some insight into ones I don't know about? I am from SoCal and would love to move back there but I am open minded to get the training I need/want. After that, I am sure I will have to pay my dues where ever I go and keep learning.

2. Tman and need louvers ? like this.
  3. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Something that you should understand is that a lot of those "schools " are for profit private businesses in disguise.

As such many times they care more about how much money they can make from you than what you will learn or how successful you will or won't be after you graduate.

You would be further ahead finding someone willing to teach and mentor you while you work.
    A type of apprenticeship.

Actual university programs would be great.