Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects What's up with Chris Nielson cams???

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Rob Paul, Apr 7, 2016.

1. abe e baby

abe e baby

That is a Lie Chris never did Cam lobe design.
    Only copys cams - He new that I studied under Harvey Crane for 16 years.

2. abe e baby

abe e baby

Worked and assisted him in teaching the hi performance class with Dema Elgin @ De Anza Collage - Yes Jerry Cantrell's work is not as good as you want- had him grind 6 lobes for me for OHC and each lobe measured showed where the grinding wheel was backed away from the lobes had to re design all 6- but now have nicer lobes. nad never got my 300.00 back what you see is what you get.

3. falcongeorge

falcongeorge
    from BC

I have looked at a couple of cams he did, they were both copies of the Crane HMV lobes. Not that those arent good lobes to copy, but my experience supports this.^^

4. 57linc

57linc

I had a nice meeting with Chris over 20 years ago. I saw his ad in Hemmings and he had, among others, a new cam for my 368 Lincoln. I saw by his phone number that he was only a 30 minute drive from me. He was in the non-descript white cinder block building in a rural area
    with a few late 50's
    fords out front. Picked up the cam and talked briefly. He showed me some Hemi valve covers he had just bought. and then had some other Lincoln engine parts he had for a very good price. He even had some custom push rods made for me by someone in Ore. i think. Now, across the road from where the old building was(at least i sure didn't see it anywhere a year ago), is the new Justice center/Jail/sheriffs Office. And behind it is the parking for the big new shopping center. Such a nice guy. Hope all is well with him.

5. Rob Paul

Rob Paul