Register now to get rid of these ads!

How old's the oldest H.A.M.B. member?60+?Tell us a cool story

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jalopy junkie, Dec 11, 2008.

1. J D Coop

J D Coop

I'm 72 and have been into cars since before I can remember. The first car I lusted after was a 34 Ford 3 window coupe. It was a chopped, channeled bright yellow dream car with a souped up flathead and I spotted it at the Buick dealer walking home from high school. Harry said he would sell it to me for $125 and my feet hardly touched the ground as I ran the rest of the way home. Nope. The folks didn't have $125 and I didn't have a job. My first purchase was a 1929 Ford pickup that I bought from a friend for $45. It had a cracked head and needed a rebuild. My pop worked with an old timer who knew how to replace the babbit in the rods and we rebuilt the banger. I drove it to school for two years. When I graduated High School, my folks said they would buy me a car. I found a 1955 Studebaker Speedster that fit the budget. It needed work but it fit the budget. The engine was anemic and smoked like a locomotive. It had 3 on the tree with overdrive and a 4.56 rear end. My buddy had a 55 Chevy hardtop with the 265 and a tri-power setup. He took great glee in the fact that he could eat my lunch whenever he felt like it. I spent the next summer working on a farm and saving my money. When harvest was done I had enough money to buy most of the parts for an engine swap. My pop and I dropped a 365 Caddy in the Studebaker and I went looking for my buddy. We pulled up to a stoplight together and when it went green we were off. I beat him for a block and he insisted we go out to the marked quarter mile on the old highway where he would show me up or leave town. I beat him three times back to back before I let him off the hook and popped the hood. The car was a beast. I could feel the floorboards twist when I launched hard. I was fortunate to be working in a gas station where I