Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Styling help - 37 Packard.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BuiltFerComfort, Apr 29, 2016.

1. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort

So there's this 1937 Packard 115 on the Philly Craigslist. I'm probably not buying it, but it got me thinking. I'm wondering what HAMBers think of shortening a car to improve looks/function.

Stock it's a bit staid and old fashioned. Restored car : [​IMG]

I love the grill on these and some of the body lines- American Luxury as of 1937. CL car:
    [​IMG]

But it's a long, narrow 37 sedan. I was looking at Bantam coupes and got an idea. (I can't fit in those - I'm 6'5" - but I like the look)

I shortened the car, made it a 2-door (lengthened front door), moved the rear axle and fender back. Would this work?
    [​IMG]

This would let me put the seat in a comfy position, let me keep a small trunk, etc. - styling like an oversized Bantam but a 2-seater. I like it, but I'm a novice and wanted feedback. Especially curious if anyone has built something like this.

2. Not an improvement IMO.... I'd shorten the wheelbase about the amount of the 'bustle trunk', then eliminate the bustle, dropping the rear of the body down from the roof like a more conventional sedan.

cretin likes this.
  3. JJK

JJK

Looks too English shortened.

4. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort

Like a slant back 37 Ford? That might work better, but I like the idea of some trunk space.

I like the English styling of Austin, Bantam, etc. I'm not sure I hit the mark though.

5. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort

[​IMG]

That is with trunk removed, but wheelbase still moved back. Looks worse to me.

6. Barn Find

Barn Find
    from Missouri

Leave the wheel base alone. Shorten body. Lengthen hood. Move bustle forward so it sits inboard of rear fenders.

You should be able to get all that done in an afternoon, right?

302GMC likes this.
  7. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort