Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Classic car newbie

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TastyRubin, Apr 27, 2016.

1. TastyRubin

TastyRubin

So I'm a big newbie coming over to the dark side from the Honda world. I was given a 1960 Ford Falcon 4 door. I read a lot about POR-15 engine enamel and finally decided to try it out. In short it worked great on a iron block but for me spray on worked better on the smoother areas like the valve cover and oil pan. Here's a little before and after. WP_20160328_16_47_18_Pro.jpg WP_20160423_20_40_04_Pro.jpg WP_20160328_16_47_18_Pro.jpg WP_20160423_20_40_04_Pro.jpg WP_20160423_20_40_17_Pro.jpg

michael knight likes this.
  2. ACO.OG

ACO.OG

Nice!

Engine came out nice! Pics of car?

3. TastyRubin

TastyRubin

Yeah I'll get some pictures up soon. It's sitting in my way to small garage so it's hard to get a good pic. Like I said "newbie"

4. Barn Find

Barn Find
    from Missouri

Looks great. Do you have to cover it with something else to make it UV resistant or is that included in their engine paint?

5. TastyRubin

TastyRubin

I don't think I do but now you asked I'm going to research it. It's not back in the car yet so I'm going to check that out.

6. TastyRubin

TastyRubin

Strait from the POR website:

MUST I PAINT OVER POR-15 TO MAKE IT LAST?
    No, but POR-15 has an ultra-violet sensitivity and must be topcoated if continually exposed to sunlight. Once topcoated, POR-15 will remain effective for many years.

7. belair

belair

So don't drive with the hood up on sunny days and you'll be fine.

timwhit and CowboyTed like this.
  8. TastyRubin

TastyRubin

That's great advice!

9. CowboyTed

CowboyTed

Hmmm . . . judging from the working space around that truck in his avatar picture, Barn Find must be a newbie too! :)

Your engine looks great! Cleaning up an engine and getting a nice coat of paint on it is one of the more tedious jobs in fixing up old cars.

Barn Find likes this.