Register now to get rid of these ads!

home made tools and equipment...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by kustombuilder, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Brendan1959

Brendan1959

Seeing as there have been some vices shown.
    Her is one I built some 25 years ago, only because one of my work mates who was a welder said I could not build one (I am an electrician) It has served me well I recommend brass soft jaws. Even though I can now afford a store bought version I see no need to replace it. And it has been abused no end.
    Brendan
    IMG_3839.JPG IMG_3840.JPG

BradinNC, rumblegutz, Ulu and 9 others like this.
  2. bobbytnm

bobbytnm

Isn't it amazing the thing we can do when someone says "you can't"??
    good job
    Bobby

loudbang likes this.
  3. Brendan1959

Brendan1959

I recall the hardest part was cutting the square (acme?) threads.

4. cretin

cretin

Nothing earth shattering here, but made this cam bearing tool for the flathead I'm working on.

ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1458633434.276905.jpg

5. gatz

gatz

Very good work there, Brendan.

How did you cut the acme threads?
    And, the nut ?

whtbaron likes this.
  6. woodbutcher

woodbutcher

:DHi Gat.Ahhhhhhhhhh.Very carefully?:rolleyes::p
    Good luck.Have fun.Be safe.
    Leo

7. whtbaron

whtbaron
    from manitoba

LOL... not the answer we were looking for. I know you can buy the ACME threaded rod, but I also would like to hear how he threaded the nut.

8. ROADSTER1927

ROADSTER1927

You can also buy the nuts, weld a tab on and WALLA! Gary

9. bobbytnm

bobbytnm

wow! I'm super impressed now. You cut your own acme threads? THATS dedication.
    Good job

10. When a friend of mine was taking machinist classes at the local vo-tech in the mid 70's, he showed me one of
    his projects: an Acme threaded rod and nut, that when you set it upright the nut spun down the threads by gravity.