Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects newbie 283 build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Stefan Charles, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Stefan Charles

Stefan Charles

Hey there
    name's Stefan & from northern California, about 40 minutes north of SF. This is my first post on the HAMB. I have spent quite some time looking over threads as a non-member and the time has come to sack up and get some solid advice

I own a 64' c10 shortbed fleet side in which I have a 283 sbc, single rochester 2bbl, and I am building another motor for the truck at school. This is my first time building a sbc & I fortunately have a watchful eye to guide me through the journey. i need some advice/opinons on parts.

it's a '59 283 bored 40 over, 2 main bolt, corvette casting. I'm going to be running the 283 power pack heads (1.71 intake), about 9.5:1 compression, forged small journal crank. wondering what the best choice of cam could be for this motor? i'm wanting to run around 500-600 cfm for carb, ram horn manifolds. truck has 3.73 gears mated to a granny 4 speed. great for pulling stumps. i may swap to a tranny that has a usable 1st gear down the road

I'm looking for a streetable cam, and heard of the duntov 097 which is pretty mild. also considering what they call an RV cam. thoughts? advice? ass chewing? anything is appreciated. thank you much

Stefan

2. D.N.D.

D.N.D.
    Member Emeritus

Hey Stefan don't go any farther , buy one of those o97 Duntov cams and use the stock stamped steel rockers and chrome tin covers

They had a loose valve setting and made cool ' ticky - ticky - ticky ' sounds from the valve train that is all-time bitchen

We all used those cams in out tri 5 chevys while hanging out at ' Bob's Big Boy's ' in the late 50's and early 60's

If you want to have a period sounding ride get that cam and part's

Sent pic of my 57' street racer

DND IMG_0001.jpg

3. Old TFFdriver

Old TFFdriver
    from California