Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical AV8 parts compatability?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Aaron D., Nov 28, 2015.

1. Aaron D.

Aaron D.

Hi guys, I was hoping some of you could help me figure out if these parts are compatible with each other. I don't have a machine shop in my garage, just basic tools, welder, torch and other common items. Please be easy on me, I'm a newbie. I have gone through the Tardel/Bishop book but they don't mention some of these parts. Thanks.

Model A chassis.

Front end:
    34 front axle and wishbone.
    36 spindles
    F100 brake backing plates, hubs and drums.
    model A spring

Rear end:
    37-39 radius rods
    Model A rear end, torque tube and drive shaft.
    32 rear end
    Model A spring

Tardel K member
    39 trans
    EAC Merc flathead
    F100 steering box
    32 pedals
    35 ford wheels

2. woodypecker

woodypecker

One item to look out for is that there are two 32 rear ends. Early one is like model, late one is like 33 and 34. Merc flathead will need truck half bell to mate to 39 trans. I am missing many things but the experts will correct me.

3. flatford39

flatford39

Most everything is "compatible" with your build...the big question is what is your skill set. You seem to have enough tools equipment to make it all work.

4. Check the fit of the '35 Ford wire wheels and the F100 hub and drums. I don't think they will fit without a very thick spacer. I am confused about the rear end? Where did the 37-39 radius rods and the 32 rear end come in? Why not just run all Model A?

Charlie Stephens

Last edited: Nov 28, 2015

5. Aaron D.

Aaron D.

Thanks Charlie, that's some of my question. Will a model A rear end, radius rods, torque tube and drive shaft work with everything else? Will the A drive shaft/torque tube mount up to the 39 tranny? These are all parts I can get for my build. I want to make sure I'm buying stuff I can use.

Last edited: Nov 29, 2015
  6. coonpiss

coonpiss