Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Building from Scratch

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Fender1325, Nov 11, 2015.

1. Fender1325

Fender1325

Guys I've been kicking around the idea to build a car from scratch. Its far fetched, crazy, and I have little experience with metal shaping. The short of it is that I'm thinking about buying an old truck - 70's or 80's, and using the frame and running gear from it. Chevy likely. From there, remove the body, clean up and rebuild everything and start a body from complete scratch.

I've been really inspired by the 39 cadillac being built on here. It would be something along those lines. I would build it as a permanent convertible.

I'd be buying an english wheel, shrinker/stretcher, and a cheap metal brake. Likely from Harbor Freight. I already have a bead roller and MIG welder.

I've watched Ron Covell on youtube making fenders from scratch. I understand the amount of time and what a large undertaking it is. I also realize I could potentially end up with something ugly, however I'm confident I could build something usable and would appreciate it nonetheless. I imagine Id build the firewall first and from there the doors and hood, followed by 4 fenders and the rear of the body. It doesn't need to be overly complex. It might end up even along the line of a late 20's race car. Long and large in scale but a roadster.

So is this over the top crazy or what?

2. 2racer

2racer

3. realsteel34

realsteel34

We`ll need pictures.

4. mikhett

mikhett
    from jackson nj

Don't let fear hold you back.

5. F&J

F&J

the thread will get deleted with talk of that frame.

I'd remove that part ASAP

6. Kinky6

Kinky6