Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 32 Ford Positive Camber, how much ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Johnny Gee, Aug 11, 2015.

1. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

First off, this is my first time working with a solid axle, nothing like A Frame and shims. Here's what I'm dealing with on a take over job and little info on part's other than I'm dealing with a new So Cal drop axel and original spindles on a little pick-up. So my basic question is. When I look at the tire's from the front, it clearly has positive camber. What is an except able positive angle if there is such a thing ? Currently I'm only interested with the wheels straight and not KPI. This is only a starting point. Thanks, John

Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  2. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

Ford spec is max 1 degree, minimum 1/4 degree. Axle pin bosses are to be at 8 degrees.

Johnny Gee likes this.
  3. Could be that the spindles are on upside down. I can never remember how to tell top from bottom on them but if you get them on upside down you will got odd camber.

Johnny Gee likes this.
  4. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

Spindles are on correctly and thanks for the specs and advise both of you. Today I'll be taking home my protractor to get a better look at the angle of the dangle. There may not be enough positive caster either, but the protractor will tell me once I level this project also. This did come to mind but since I haven't played with these, I have more questions. Does adding more positive caster, decrease positive camber ? Because toe will be affected just by rolling back the axle to add caster causing the toe to be readjusted, right ? I say this because I already read some of your guy's posting on camber and it's affect's to everything else.

5. Hi-Flying

Hi-Flying

If you have a I Phone bring up the compass slide to the left and you have degree measuring device.

6. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee