Register now to get rid of these ads!

Folks Of Interest Leroi Tex Smith.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HOTFR8, Jun 11, 2015.

1. He was one of first names I remember for his stories in the magazines. Another real icon leaves us, a truly sad day.

2. okiedokie

okiedokie
    from Ok

Very sad news. Always wondered why he moved to Australia.

3. When I was in high school, I bought and read Hot Rod Engines so many times, just to learn every shred of information I could about the things that mattered so much. I still have the book, and thanks to LeRoi "Tex" Smith, I have some of the knowledge he gave us. We all must pass along our knowledge, ensuring that his legacy continues.

4. OLDSMAN

OLDSMAN
    BANNED

Tex Smith's legacy will live on forever RIP Tex

5. HOTFR8

HOTFR8

Now that makes me laugh Wayne. I recall a similar incident or one I was told about after the salt here and a speeding ticket I think given to Ron and how Tex made fun of it later.

6. CGkidd

CGkidd

RIP to a great writer

7. HOTFR8

HOTFR8

Not to forget Trish and her family here in Australia.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  8. Hotrodmyk

Hotrodmyk
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    1. Northwest HAMBers

Sad news indeed. RIP

9. ss34coupe

ss34coupe

Sorry to hear this news about Tex Smith - one of the great hot rod writers, and certainly someone I read with great interest in the 60's and 70's. His pursuit and description of vintage tin finds remain classic pieces of automotive journalism. My condolences to his family.

10. I always liked his writing, and his cars, and followed the changes he made to his modified to get it legal when he moved to Australia.
    I'll bet he enjoyed the last years rodding wise, in Aussy.
    Rest In Peace, Mr Smith.

11. SicSpeed

SicSpeed
    from Idaho

His books were definitely an inspiration for me. A little creativity for using what I have have Instead of doing it like everyone else . I'll have to get them out and study them again.

RIP Tex