Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical '52-54 Ford headlight bezel frenching/tunneling questions

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by hotrod54chevy, Apr 20, 2015.

1. hotrod54chevy

hotrod54chevy
    from Ohio

Bodywork newbie here. I'd seen that these rings looked to be the desired kind because of the inner trim ring that can be taken out. Is this so that adjustments can be made to the headlight from the front instead of having to pull the tire off? I'm asking because I don't know if you have to flip the bucket mount screws like I've seen in how-tos before or not. I'd also like to tunnel these a little. How far back do you go? I'd thought these were the Merc style, but they're marked as Ford. Only reason I'm concerned is I'd heard Ford bezels were pot metal. I've been able to stick a magnet on these. Do I have the right type, or will I run into trouble? And not that it matters, but these are going on my '54 Chevy. I'll try to post pics. Thanks for the help!

Attached Files:

2. vwdave30

vwdave30

The 52, 53 headlight rings are steel the 54s are potmetal. I think you still have to adjust your headlight from behind.

54delray likes this.
  3. Slopok

Slopok