Register now to get rid of these ads!

Features VINTAGE SPRINT CAR PIC THREAD, 1965 and older only please.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Joshua Shaw, Jan 17, 2008.

1. Rootie Kazoootie

Rootie Kazoootie
    from Colorado

2. TDBV

TDBV

I'm new to this but information on Bruce Johnston who was killed at Muroc can be found in Tex Smith's "Hot Rod History Book One" by Tom Medley. Chapter 6 is an interview with Bruce and it deals mostly about his dry lakes racing but he does talk about his running a midget and also "big cars". He mentions Dempsy Wilson and Mac Hellings driving for him and talks about running a blown Offy midget engine in a sprint car.
    I used to go to lunch regularly with Bruce 35 to 40 years ago and at that time he owned the Bud Rose car (pictured in post 22477) and a couple of 220 Offys and misc. Miller parts
    I remember that he talked to Myron Stevens about building one last race car to sell as a collector car and Myron told him that he had already built his last race car.
    Bruce also talked about working with Sandy Belond on a race car but I don't remember which one. He also talked about running Pikes Peak.
    I hope this helps answer some questions about Bruce Johnston.

3. indyrjc

indyrjc
    from Indiana

Thank you, TDBV, for the additional and personal information. It is much appreciated.

And your note that Bruce owned a couple of 220 Offenhausers makes me wonder if his stretched sprinter/Champ car used the same 220 engine that it had been running all along. It wouldn't be the first time that had happened.

I'll just have to keep looking for even more background on this car as well as Johnston himself.
    Thanks again!

4. carl s

carl s
    from Indio, CA

5. Rootie Kazoootie

Rootie Kazoootie
    from Colorado

This is kinda interesting, Louis Tomei 1946. Wonder if he had a spotter on top the grandstand too?;)
    Capture mi radio 1.JPG Capture mi radio 2.JPG

6. racer chaser

racer chaser
    from indiana