Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Garage find 30 A-Coupe

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by ElJayM, Feb 1, 2015.

1. ElJayM

ElJayM

So I've had my feet in a little of everything over my short years, but since I was a little kid I remember in my dads machine shop a picture of Milner leaning on his deuce coupe and since then all I ever wanted was a coupe. It took me 20 years but I finally scored one June of 2014. I work as a machinist right next to where I'm building my shop and I overheard one of the truck drivers talking about this old Mod A coupe e had stuffed in a garage right down the road, long story short I followed him home that day and bought it on the spot for a STEAL. The car was bought brand new in 1930 and was parked in 1961 when the owner passed away. His kids sold the car to the truck drivers uncle in 1999, his uncle did some quite interesting (shitty) work to the car, then he too passed on and now it's in my hands. I was the first person to register the car since '62 and I have the original Henry title with the car. It had 47k on the clock and the way it runs and feels, I don't disbelieve it to be original. When I pulled the motor, I discovered it to have a small cam, specs unknown, and some seemingly hand-done shaving on the heads to accommodate. I resurfaced the head in my vertical mill and put everything back together, and have racked miles on since. It's thrown me for quite a few curves and some serious issues, mostly electrical, but nothing we could figure out. I have a 331 Hemi for the car with a quick change and a BW T10. Don't let the pictures fool you, the car was a solid foundation but had some serious issues. For starters, we weren't sure about pulling it out of the garage it was stuffed in because the walls were made out of household doors and were braced just inches from the car. Once we got it into the light I was overrun with emotion, and haven't looked back since. So far I've had the car in complete pieces,