Register now to get rid of these ads!

Functional lake pipes

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jc.dempsey, Jan 15, 2015.

1. jc.dempsey

jc.dempsey

Forgive me if there is already a thread out there, I'm new to the H.A.M.B.

This is my first car, so I have plenty of ideas, but no knowledge to back it up. I've got some speedway lake pipes (free) that I want to put on, but I also want to run them as functional exhaust for the little 8BA. Would they handle the use?

I'm open to any opinions or advice.
    Thanks, Jack

ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1421303186.236808.jpg

2. Cool shoebox you have there. I see no reason why your lake pipes wouldn't hold up as the actual exhaust system for the car. You might want to keep some wax on them as the chrome on most of those pipes never was the best. Word of advice; Allow pipes to cool down before applying wax.:D

3. They look good in the mock up photo. Free? Why not!
    Do you mean to run the exhaust through them all the time or only when uncapped?

4. doinbad

doinbad
    from celina tn

Be careful i had a set on a 60 impala were on it when i got it, burnt my leg bad first time i drove it the get hot !, mount them as much under car as you can.

pat59 likes this.

5. Colin HD

Colin HD

They'll work fine, but as above:
    Chrome might not be the best or last too long.
    They get VERY hot
    Remember to uncap them

6. jc.dempsey

jc.dempsey

I was planning on running them uncapped. And yeah I found out about hot pipes when I got out of a t bucket one time. That was fun. Thanks for the input!

7. manyolcars

manyolcars

it helps to move those pipes closer to the rear of the car. Reason: S-curve from exhaust pipe to side pipe

I have similar pipes used as handrails on a pickup that I will use.They are thicker metal with better chrome

Put them*under*the car to avoid burns

8. jc.dempsey

jc.dempsey

Now next question: since there isn't a lot of room between the headers and the pipes, could I use mufflers?