Register now to get rid of these ads!

Folks Of Interest SHOP OWNERS, How do you get workers?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Rocket's Hot Rod Garage, Dec 9, 2014.

1. My day job is a different line of work entirely, but I do manage empolyees, including finding and hiring etc.
    I think the suggestions that were made above about checking with trade schools is a viable one- if you can deal with someone that still needs some training. I've tried the Worksource and various unemployment placement places and have not been successful at all. Also, I think that social media could be utilized but you may need to pay for a targeted ad on facebook.. I've seen your ad on craigslist and nothing jumps out that is wrong with it, just not reaching the folks you need. Good luck and if I think of someone that may work I'll send them your way- Greg

2. indyjps

indyjps

Rockets, I see 3 options.
    Hire a young pup outta trade school and expect to spend time with them, they'll require frequent raises or they will jump as soon as they get a year on the resume, discuss their plans and goals with them and try to keep them on.
    Actively recruit sharp talent from another shop, if your building hot rods you have the opportunity to shark good employees from shops that are doing late model stuff, you'll need to have enough steady interesting work to keep them there.
    Hire a journeyman "reliable old guy", doesn't work fast, but he can go all day without guidance. Sometimes it's difficult to let these guys alone to operate, they usually won't tolerate much oversight or bs, again it'll cost ya.

3. T-DeWitt

T-DeWitt

Yup, I can't see giving up a good paying job for a non paying dream job!!!

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

slammed and gimpyshotrods like this.
  4. Kicking around this idea myself.

5. Thanks for the input everyone. I haven't tried the social media outlet yet so I like that idea.