Register now to get rid of these ads!

History 57 150 questions

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by bademan, Dec 14, 2014.

1. bademan

bademan

Hello all, I have a couple of questions about my 150. It had recently been brought to my attention that it was kind of an odd car. It apears to be a business coupe, but has had a back seat added, the rear windows do not roll down but has factory v8 motor mounts. I was under the assumption that all of these cars came with 235's. My vin even reads "A" wich I thought meant it was a 150 with a 235. Also another weird thing I noticed when I replaced the brakes the other day was that my front spindle had originally been a different lug pattern, a larger patternt than the 4 3/4. Somebody has re drilled the spindle for the 4 3/4 bolt pattern. I am just so curious as to what this car could have been, maybe a special order? Anyway I am new to the tri 5 world and just trying to figure out what I have. Any info anyone could share would be greatly appreciated.

2. Larger pattern? 6 lugs were used on some for racing.
    This vehicle may have been changed over the years by its many owners, unless you have a detailed history.

3. bademan

bademan

Yes it's a larger pattern but still a 5 lug pattern. Unfortunately I have zero history on the car. It appears that it was restored in the early 90's.and I'm guessing there only due to the pattern on the seat covers. It's the same pattern used in the early 90's chevy trucks.

4. bademan

bademan

Here some pics of the car, excuse the wiring mess. I've since went in and cleaned it all up. Actually I've done a lot since these pictures lol

Attached Files:

5. squirrel

squirrel

What do you mean by "factory V8 motor mounts"? The six and V8 had the same frame, the factory stuff to mount a V8 was just bolted on, and is easy to add later.

6. slowmotion

slowmotion

Lug patterns aside, that's a great lookin' start ya got there. A bare bones 150 makes a great hotrod!

7. henry's57bbwagon