Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Flat tappet cam failures

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mustangmike6996, Oct 15, 2014.

1. mustangmike6996

mustangmike6996
    from the D

Looking to get some real world numbers on who has had a cam failure after a rebuild or during/after the break in process.

If you did ruin your engine, what did you find to be the root cause, what did you have to replace?

I had a 302 with a 331 stroker kit eat a Comp cam, zinc additive, break-in oil, assembly lube used. I have built a couple dozen engines, I was an ASE Master tech/Advanced level tech so this isn't my first rodeo. This is my first engine failure (sucks because its my engine that messed my track record up)

I have a list of things that are bad, need to be replaced, and things I will do different when I re-redo my engine.

Ill save my specifics until I get some responses.

2. tommyd

tommyd
    from South Indy

Wiped out two Comp Cams flat tappet big chevy. This was in two different engines and both times it happened in the garage. Replaced each one with the exact same cam and the exact same procedure and both have been fine since. I think its a crap shoot! On the first one we just drained the oil replaced the cam and stuck powerful magnets on the pan and oil filter. When we took it apart at the end of the racing season it was UGLY! Lots of scuffing on the skirts and cyl walls. Still ran good though.:rolleyes:

3. b block Chev. Wiped out lobes even with Zinc additive. Crapped out the engine with particles. Started all over and that time it ran ok. ??????????

4. models916

models916

I pay Comp to re-surface harden my new cams after grinding. I think it's like $50

5. squirrel

squirrel

2001 was the last time it happened to me, I've been putting hydraulic rollers in the BBCs since then.

6. jseery

jseery
    from Wichita KS