Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 1955 Ford F-100 disc brakes VS. drum

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1955 F-100 guy, Oct 15, 2014.

?
  1. 1

3 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. 3

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. 1955 F-100 guy

1955 F-100 guy
    from NE Pa

Would like to know from ones that have installed a front disc brake kit on their 53-56 Ford F-100 is it worth the money and time to do. Is there a BIG difference from the drum brakes in stopping and pedal pressure, and fade after brakes gets warmed up--must you use a # 10 residuel valve to the front disk and any to the back. I have a frame mount power master cylinder and power steering and a late model V-8 engine with 310 HP-- and original all new and adjusted correct drum brakes-- will I see a BIG-BIG difference with the pushing down pedal pressure and smooth stopping -- Thanks

Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  2. V8 Bob

V8 Bob
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

[QUOTE="41 Ford pick-up, post: 10657129, member: 118828"] . Is there a BIG difference from the drum brakes in stopping and pedal -- will I see a BIG-BIG differance with the disc brake kit installed.....[/QUOTE]

The BIG-BIG difference between disc and drum brakes is FADE resistance, both with heat and water. Discs easily dissipate heat and throw off water.......drums do not. It really depends on the kind of driving you do, along with location, speeds, weights, trailer towing, etc. Discs will provide smoother and more even braking, but also require higher hydraulic pressure that can result in greater pedal efforts. Manual disc/drum factory systems were on many late '60s-early '80s small-mid sized vehicles, but do require careful master cylinder sizing and pedal ratios. With your vacuum assist, pedal efforts should be low.

Last edited: Oct 15, 2014
  3. 1955 F-100 guy

1955 F-100 guy
    from NE Pa