Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects First build: 1930 model a

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by JOHANSON, Oct 14, 2014.

1. JOHANSON

JOHANSON
    from texas

As the title states, this is my first build. I'm going to need a lot of guidance through this, so be patient. I've recently purchased a 1930 Model A frame for $150, the price seems to be right, and a 1946/47 flathead 59a for $250.

Now I've got to decide on what I want to do with it first. I'm guessing I need to start off by stripping the chassis and installing the suspension/axles. I've got my mind set on the 4" drop front end kit from chassis engineering, but I have no clue what to do about the rear end. I have the set of wire wheels from the original car, I was told they'll fit on most 9" Ford axles. I haven't decided on what drive train I want to use, but I have the original 3-speed so I guess I'll stick with that until I decide later on. Any suggestions on a rear end?

Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
    kidcampbell71 likes this.
  2. patmanta

patmanta
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Woburn, MA
    1. MASSACHUSETTS HAMB

Do you know what you want for a body? I'd say get a body first. And the Tardell book.

Since you've got the 59A/transmission, I'd suggest going with a banjo rear end or at least starting your search there. They should be rather inexpensive and easy to find in your area. I see them on epay for short money in TX all the time. You'll definitely pay for a 9" no matter where you are.

3. Corn Fed

Corn Fed

You actually have a 28-29 frame there.

4. JOHANSON

JOHANSON
    from texas

I'm leaning towards a roadster body. At the moment, I just want to be able to roll the chassis around, I don't really have anyone to help me. I may know of one person who might have a banjo rear end in my area, but other than that I can't find them anywhere. Maybe I need to look harder.