Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects The Elza Coupe - 26 T Gow Job build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by rail job, Sep 28, 2014.

1. rail job

rail job
    from Michigan

Hey guys,

I've been a lurker here for sometime while I have been moving money, and toys around to start on a project I have had in my head for the last 30 or so years. To build what I see, as a Hot Rod..... Out of all the cars I have built, or taken part in over the years, I've always had more of heart for traditional Hot Rodding. It's what I grew up on, it was my environment and it transitioned into a career of sorts.

Frankly, it couldn't come too soon. I was actually pretty close about 10 years ago then a divorce, and the closing of the speed shop I worked for started going under causing me to lose my parts collection.

So.... On with the build, and a little back story leading to why this is my first project with a name.

During the very early 80's when I was around 9 my family lived a block of 8 mile just into Hazel Park on a street named East Elza. We had a corner house, with nice big lot, and some stumps I used to jump on my bike. About half way down the block lived a guy in his 20's named Donnie who built cars, and by cars. I mean Hot Rods. Somehow, over the course time I befriended Donnie. For the next couple years until I moved away I could ride my bike down and hang out with him while never being turned away except once by his sister who thought I was too young...

Anyways... Donnie built cool stuff, and besides my families interest although unable to afford toys until later in life is the primary person who got me into Hot Rods. He built them, his Dad built them, and his friends built them, and I still remember them quite well to this day.

I typically don't name a car but given how long I have waited, and my intent, I think it fits.