Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Shell Rotella

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by StefanS, Sep 24, 2014.

1. StefanS

StefanS
    from Maryland

I know this has been covered about 2 million times on this and about 20 other sites but it's never enough. I've been buying Valvoline vr1 10/30 for my 235 since I did it's first oil change (before I ever brought it home). My rear main is leaking (I'm changing it when I do the t5 swap this winter) about a quart a week and at a little more than $6 a quart, it's getting expensive. I've been researching different oils for literally 4 months trying to find a less expensive oil that will work. I know there's a huge debate on if the 235 needs any extra zinc or not since it has super low valve spring/lifter pressure but why take a chance if you dont have to. Anyway, I e-mailed Shell less than 10 minutes ago about their Rotella oils and how much zddp they contained. The representative responded pretty much instantly and stated (have no idea how to post the actual e-mail response) that all of their multi-grade oils contain 1200 ppm and all of their straight weight oils contain 800 ppm. 1200 ppm is pretty much dead on what is recommended for older motors with flat tappets and at something like $15 a gallon (Walmart) its about $20 cheaper to buy. Just thought everyone would like to know. Later

gonzo, Fender1325 and lothiandon1940 like this.
  2. Mike51Merc

Mike51Merc

Just bought a gallon of Rotella T this week at WalMart on sale for $12 and change. I don't think you're gonna find anything much cheaper than that.
    I'm not sure what you and the Shell guy talked about, but as far as I know you want Rotella T Triple protection.

3. StefanS

StefanS
    from Maryland