Register now to get rid of these ads!

Traditional 283 build..

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by sodakmini, Sep 19, 2014.

1. sodakmini

sodakmini

I'm pretty new to this. Picked up a 60s 283 sbc. Doing my best to keep it "traditional". My question is, is a gear drive considered traditional??? And it's missing heads,what heads will be acceptable? Thanks guys

2. ididntdoit1960

ididntdoit1960
    from Western MA

Use "power pack" heads as denoted by the small triangle or 1.94 fuelies - no, a gear drive is more of a 70s thing and not somthing you want

3. sodakmini

sodakmini

Motor came with power pack heads but original owner kept them. Will do my best to find some. I have always liked the gear drive thing. But I suppose I can go without on this build ha. Thanks!

4. big duece

big duece
    from kansas

5. CGkidd

CGkidd

If you can find early fuelie heads go for it. Also try for a early intake with the oil filler tube drilled in the front of it. If you cant find fuelie heads I have seen the accessory holes filled and ground down to look like earlier heads. Most people will not know the difference at a glance.

6. big duece

big duece
    from kansas

What are you putting it in?

7. 59Apachegail

59Apachegail
    from New York

It might be cheaper to find a set that was freshened up by a machinist. I picked mine up for $100 then I had to pay a machinist to fix them. I could have got a set already freshened up for $450 and been ahead of the game.

8. sodakmini

sodakmini

I don't have anything to put it in yet. Planning on putting it in a 30s 2dr sedan

9. sodakmini

sodakmini

I like the idea of the early intake What exactly are fuelie heads??

10. Hotrodmyk

Hotrodmyk
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    1. Northwest HAMBers

This may help you identify heads. Study up on it there are lots of variables. Probably the Power Pack heads would be most common for an early build.

http://www.fastnuf.com/Headguide.html

loudbang likes this.
  11. sodakmini

sodakmini