Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Welder Machines

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Fender1325, Sep 7, 2014.

1. camerl2009

camerl2009

it would depend on the breaker for said outlet I had to change mine

2. rustyangels

rustyangels

As for using the full potential of a 110v machine, a 20amp circuit and no extension cord will ensure you'll burn through hot mill scale for 1/4" stock.... You can weld with the flux core, but paint prep would probably require some spot blasting after leveling the weld.

3. flypa38

flypa38

Maybe I've just been lucky, but I've had one of those cheap HF welders for about 8 years and have had very few problems. I broke a hinge for the side door and was able to order parts.
    BUT I converted mine to gas very early on and the difference is night and day compared to flux core! Secondly I am not very good at MIG with any machine Ive ever tried, so my opinion on quality doesn't matter much. I greatly prefer my torch or old Miller TIG to any MIG.
    I would definitely prefer better control of amperage than the HF machine has, but it has always done what I needed it to do and has yet to break bad.
    All this being said, I'd take a higher quality machine like Miller or Hobart over this one any day if I bumped into the right deal.

Fender1325 likes this.
  4. 270dodge

270dodge
    from Ohio

If you want to learn about welding here is a link to a good site. I learned to weld in 20 minutes on a good machine. It was a Miller abp330 which I still own. My father in law was a pro welder and did the teaching. He said that the machine did 1/2 of the teaching and that was true. Quality.
    http://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/

Fender1325 likes this.
  5. theHIGHLANDER

theHIGHLANDER
    ALLIANCE MEMBER