Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Paint Advise - Transition from Exterior to Interior colors

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flatblack13, Aug 23, 2014.

1. flatblack13

flatblack13
    from Austin, TX

I'm a novice painter. I've painted a number of race motorcycles, and flaked the roof and dash of an old truck of mine. I'm about to pick up a new toy on Monday. All the work is done. I feel guilty buying it without putting in the real work myself. However, it's a long bed F100 with a flat white exterior and interior...It looks like a refrigerator on wheels.

I like the white interior, but need to do something with the exterior. I was thinking of going with a satin black exterior (with scallops, shaved handles and put louvers in the hood). However, I'm not sure how to handle the transition in the door jamb area from the black exterior color to the white interior. I'm afraid I'll either end up with a weird thin black line framing the door where you can see just inside the curve of the door edge by the door jamb, or I'll have a weird white frame visible around the inside edge of the door jamb that's visible when the door is open...Maybe it won't look as bad as I imagine. I've had no luck looking up pictures or a description of how this is handled.

Second question maybe I'll just do scallops and some red metal flake on the already black roof to break up all that plain white. I did some very rough photoshop (I've never really used photoshop before) mock ups of the truck both ways and it doesn't look too bad if I keep the primary exterior color white and it would be a lot easier. I'll attach before and after pics and look for opinions. You can tell I got a little better with photoshop as I went along, but you still get an idea of what I was going for on the first draft.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. saltflats

saltflats
    from Missouri

I kinda like the bottom one.

3. papajohn

papajohn