Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical *Easy & Cheap* Home made TOP DEAD CENTER (TDC) Tool HOW TO.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Joshua Shaw, Aug 22, 2014.

1. Joshua Shaw

Joshua Shaw

This Idea is nothing new... but I had to make one in the shop today, got to thinking about all the great "How-to" tech articles on the HAMB and did not find anything on making a TDC Dial Indicator in a search.. (However, I'm still new to the NEW format and could be totally missing it!)

Anyways, this tool works BEST on Early Bangers, a lot of Inline engines, and anything with a spark plug located directly over top the Piston, HOWEVER.. I HAVE USED THESE INDICATORS on such engines as a Chevy Small block and it worked fine for me!

***The Engines we build are the Legendary OFFENHAUSER Racing engines, and Harry Miller Engines... Pictured here is a 270 Offy**

Furthermore, I UNDERSTAND that different engines require different size Spark plugs, and ONE TOOL will not fit all here, but if you build a lot of ONE CERTAIN type of engine, fabricating one of these for your self would help in many ways during assembly, setting timing, maintenance, and tuning. ...and maybe seeing how I do it, will spark an idea of how YOU can do it.

Lets get started:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Buy a cheap Dial Indicator. I found this one in the MSC Supply catalog for $19.00.. It happened to be on sale and it cost me $9.00 when it was all said and done. (I know it's a cheap CHINA rip off and you should ALWAYS BUY AMERICAN!!! ...but I'm a Baller on a budget.)

2. For my application (Offy) the Early 2 piece Champion Spark plugs work PERFECT. If your engine is a later model and uses one piece Spark plugs... you will need to bust the porcelain center out, DRILL the entire center of the plug out, and put a set screw in the side of the plug, or Weld it to your FIXTURE SLEEVE. (see step #4 )