Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1961 Ford Falcon four door RESTORATION

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by GSEVEN, Aug 9, 2014.

1. GSEVEN

GSEVEN

Hello Ya'll,

I'm a newb to the group so here is what I'm working with. I've never done a restoration and I can already tell I've bit off a little more then I can chew on this one. Bought this of craigslist for $1000 in the same town I live. Yes I know it's a four door but, I like the look and it's fits my whole family and I'm told has better gas milage then some modern cars. This is gonna be our around town Sunday grocery getter. No hot rod, it's gonna go to my daughter when she graduates. Maybe ;)

After I got it home I realized it had more rust then I expected and therefore I am going to do a full media/sand blasting job on it. Before I started the strip down I attacked the engine to bring her back to life. Rebuilt the carb. Replaced fuel pump,water pump and did a tune up.

Now I still don't know if it's a 144 or 170 yet but am thinking its a 144. The radiator was rusted out so I ordered a CU1463 Spectra Premium radiator but it didn't fit. It was a little thicker then the OEM even though it was advertised as a direct fit! :(

So at the present I'm stuck in the water on that one. I did start her and she fired right up, yeah! Did a quick test gear shift and she moved so I may be ok on the tranny.

So I jumped right in and started stripping her down. Removed hood, front glass and almost finished the two front fenders. The rusted bolts kicked my arse! There are a few down behind the front bumper that are rusted beyond belief. They hold the fenders to the front spoiler? I think it's called a spoiler. Like I said I'm a newb at this.

Any way just wanted to introduce myself. Here's a few pics of the car and I'll post more tomorrow of the strip down. Till then...CYA!

Attached Files:

2. low budget

low budget
    from Central Ky