Register now to get rid of these ads!

Motion Pictures The '55 Olds in W.W. & The Dixie Dancekings?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by rustynewyorker, Jan 8, 2009.

1. mickeyc

mickeyc

I liked the Dance Kings movie. I think the Smokey movie was ridiculous.
    However I did like Jackie Gleason. Also the pathetic Gas Monkey recreation was worse.

2. A friend of mine had a rather ratty used-and-abused '55 Olds more-door back in '77 when I was a sophomore in high school - had just gotten my drivers license and drove to the little town to the north of where I lived to check it out. It was baby blue/white, a real tank. Around that time the movie made it to broadcast TV (for those who didn't grow up in the pre-HBO era movies had their theatrical release, then went into hibernation for a couple of years before making it to prime-time TV and then on to the late-nite circuit), maybe an 'ABC Sunday Night Movie'? All I could think of was "that's like the car in 'WW and the Dixie Dance Kings." He ended up running it in a demolition derby (he did that with virtually all of his cars), but ever since I saw that '55 along with "WW" I've had a soft spot for mid-'50s Oldmobubbles, even though what I really have lusted after are '55-'56 Fords and T-birds.

3. junkyardjeff

junkyardjeff

I never heard of that movie.

4. wombat barf

wombat barf
    from oklahoma

wow. I saw it on TV circa 1979 and hadn't seen it since. you'd be amazed at the Burt Reynolds fans you can stump with this one.

5. The car is owned by a guy in Wichita, Ks he purchased it from the studio. These pictures were taken at the Towanda Service Area on the Kansas Turnpike. The guy's daughter and son-in-law were taking the car to Kansas City and are restoring it. 393437_332658603424923_2127791609_n.jpg 393437_332658600091590_1710074546_n.jpg 393437_332658610091589_175426675_n.jpg 396282_332659560091494_1441877471_n.jpg 1606974_885499704811403_5326234238510052601_n.jpg