Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 49 Custom Sedan build

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by NRErickson_84, May 15, 2014.

1. DadsBlueFord

DadsBlueFord
    from Hayden, ID

You were doing this at a class? Man, I wish there was something like that around here.

2. NRErickson_84

NRErickson_84

Yes. I have been in the street rod class at Wyotech. After the military I knew I wasn't going to be able to be in a regular class. I've always been mechanically inclined so I came here to learn how to do it. I've watched guys like Bryan Fuller, Chip Foose, and Jimmy Shine shape metal and knew I could do it. This is my first attempt at my own custom.

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

daddio211 likes this.
  3. luckythirteenagogo

luckythirteenagogo
    from Selma, NC

Well for doing all of this in school and learning as you went, I'd put you at the top of the class. Your car looks great, and I love the roofline. I have a 50 four door, and have been playing with the idea of a chop. Builds like yours just keep pushing me closer. Keep us posted on your progress, and thanks you for your service.

4. NRErickson_84

NRErickson_84

It was pretty scary because I bought that car to chop it. It was a runner too but after the door tops came off it was just business. I had a lot of fun learning the steps and really making this car my own. Now I can say that I have pretty much modified everything from the belt line and up.

5. NRErickson_84

NRErickson_84

Hey all. I am considering breaking my mold of purest traditional builds. What rear end and drivetrain set ups work well with a shoebox? I want to keep the flattie for now but I'm considering an s10 5 speed and rear end. I've been told the rear end will give me more clearance for wheels. I've also considered a ford 8.8. Has anyone done these conversions? Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

6. Texas62

Texas62
    from Tejas