Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 60's Roof on a 50's Kustom?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by freiertpc, Jun 26, 2014.

1. freiertpc

freiertpc

i'm chopping and replacing my roof With something else Anyone ever seen roof swaps from 60's cars to a 50's Kustom ,Just curious something i think i really want to do. not worried of technicalities I'm a precision fabricator by trade.

2. squirrel

squirrel

Show us some concept sketches, and we'll let you know. The art end of this is even more important than the fabrication.

blowby likes this.
  3. 20-25 years ago someone put a '65 Impala roof on a '53 Buick and the mags treated it like a new thing. So yes, it's been done.

The problem you will run into is on most 54-back cars you will have to narrow a 60s roof lengthwise. You can't cut a safetyglass backlite, so you then have to find another rear window opening or have the glass made to fit. Of course with a chop that may have already been an issue.

After that it just depends what top you want to use on what car, 50s cars tend to have round lines so short of the long fastback roofs off some of the mid-late 60s cars the later top isn't necessrily going to flow well on the earlier body.

Although a 59-60 GM with a circa-64 top might work, a-la the apparent prototype for the Gran Prix which was found rotting in a junkyard in the 80s and apparently destroyed not long after.

4. Hollywood hotrods put a mid-late 60s roof on a '60 caddy (from memory, not 100% sure on the car) imho it looked terrible and I normally love most things those guys do.

sent via classroom note. pass it on

5. Gotgas

Gotgas
    from DFW USA

6. WOW, that Chrysler looks like it rolled off the assembly line that way. Very cool. Close friend wants to do a '61 Chevy Bubbletop roof, on his 1950 Ford Shoebox. Actually built a model car of it to see how it would look. Jury still out on the whole thing. Dare to be different???

JT

7. arkiehotrods

arkiehotrods