Register now to get rid of these ads!

What the hell is wrong with my car?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by leadsleadolds, Oct 21, 2005.

1. leadsleadolds

leadsleadolds

My car is acting just like it did before I had the tranny gone through. Ive just replaced the torque converter on my car the tranny is suposed to be in great condition. Today after driving it for about 30 minutes when I get to about 40 it started hesatating real bad like it didnt want to go in high gear, and then lost all response in the pedal and it chuged its way into a parking lot. Fluid is fine.
    Im no mechanical genious Im self tought for the most part bought my first car and a shop manual about 5 years ago. Help me narrow down susspects.

2. DrJ

DrJ

The way you described it it sounds like an engine problem.

3. builtbyme

builtbyme

Fuel Filter?
    Fuel Pump?
    Carb? (Accelerator Pump)
    Vacuum leak?
    Those would be where I would look...

4. tommy

tommy
    Member Emeritus

any gas in the tank?

5. leadsleadolds

leadsleadolds

Yeah theres gas it runs fine out of gear. I'll go check the fuel filter that's a possibility Im running two untill I can get the tank relined. theres some rust issues there.
    Its got an electric fuel pump that is relativley new I can hear that bitch chugging away when I turn it on.

6. I think you have a gas supply problem, the engine needs more gas at speed. So with a plugged filter or whatever restriction, you can idle all day long, but can not go at high speed under load.

7. Smokin Joe

Smokin Joe

I'm confused, Does the engine quit or do you mean you can't go in gear or it stalls out in gear?

Electric pumps will chug away even with a ripped diaphram. What you want is for it to start up and stop when the bowl's full. You don't want it over pressuring the carb either. Check fuel filters including the one in the inlet to the carb that everyone forgets about.