Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects What!!? another 27 on 32 chassis!??. Scratch build body.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Mindover, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Mindover

Mindover
    from England

I have been planning this car for more than thirty years. Life, kids, and a small business got in the way but I have finally realised that I am not going to live forever so I have been collecting parts for the last few months. I dusted off my 32 chassis that I have been storing for almost twenty years and I am ready to start the build.

I live in the UK so parts are not as easy to get here as they are in the USA. I have looked around and if I were to buy any of the 26/27 roadster bodies I have seen I would have almost as much work to restore the thing as it would be for me to make a new one- so that I what I am going to do.

I have built or had a hand in building a good few hot rods over the years, I have built chassis and bodies for my friends and I have restored a few Ford original bodies for hot rods too but my main line of business is coachbuilding (metalshaping) for vintage and classic cars.

I intend to document the build of this car on here and I have set myself a deadline of one year from now to get it done. I want it finished in time for my youngest daughters prom. I will post updates on a regular basis so I expect to be motivated by embarrassment if I don't progress.

David

Shadow Creek and Sergeant82d like this.
  2. mastergun1980

mastergun1980
    from Alva OK

Cool. I always loved the 27 body but they are so small. Sold mine cause I am 6'2". Hope you're short!:D

3. Im looking forward to watching this come together. Im a big fan of 27 bodies on 32 chassis. Its a look that seems to have been forgotten.

4. anteek

anteek

Keep us posted with PICS!

SOHC427 likes this.

5. fleet-master

fleet-master