Register now to get rid of these ads!

TECH WEEK: Chopping a 1947 Ford Sedan Coupe

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 49Flatty, Mar 9, 2011.

1. Choptvan and I have combined efforts to finish a 1947 Ford Tudor Coupe (long door) that I have been working on and off for 10 years now. I have always envisioned this car being chopped but never thought I would do it. Everything I read in how-to books stated these turret top fords were almost impossible to get the chop done right. The turret top was just never my style but I feared in taking the first step. I also really hated the look of the small porthole quarter window some of them turn out having after being chopped.

The effort you see here was put forth to showcase some of Shannon’s (Choptvan) work and abilities. There is a lot of work being planned on this build and a separate build thread will be started. I decided to keep track of the work performed to show others that doing a chop on this kind of vehicle really is do-able and not out the reach of those reading these pages.

Shannon and I did a lot research on different chops for the Fat Fendered Fords and need to give credit to a lot of you on the HAMB for different ideas. Two people in particular made an unknown contribution, Mr.Musico and Packard8 on this board. We looked at some of the cuts they made on their 41’ Business Coupe and then added our own style. Shannon deserves all the credit and thanks for doing the cut on the 47 with just a little of my input.

Hope you all enjoy our submission for Tech Week March 2011.

1947 Ford Sedan Coupe Roof Chop
    Pot-O-Gold Kustoms
    Colorado Springs, Co
    719-358-6981
    March 2011 Tech Week Entry
    By: Choptvan and 49Flatty