Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects T-V8 Build Thread

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Late to the Party, Mar 8, 2016.

1. Well, I've been poking around here since last November, so I thought it was about time I started a build thread to show y'all what I'm working on. I did an introductory thread back then.

The first thing I want to say is that I am in awe of the talent I see posted on this site. The metal fabrication and the high quality of the welding some of you folks do just blows me away. I know some of you do this for a living, but still.....it's mind-blowing. With that said, I'll say that I'm not a professional metalworker, but I enjoy doing this kind of work and I want to build this car. I've built several frame-up restorations, but as you all know, there's a lot more ass-scratching involved in building a Hot Rod. That's why I love it. My fabrication skills are not at the level of what I see on this site, so don't expect too much. My work will be rudimentary by comparison. But I enjoy building cars, so here we go.

I began this build about 9 years ago. Then some other things became more urgent, so the chassis was out back of my shop eating grass for about 8 years. I brought it back into the shop last fall. Here's a pic of it at that time. I have been building and restoring Model T's for the past 15 years, so there will be several T parts involved in this car. I like Model T's. I built the frame using Model TT one-ton truck frame rails with shortened Model A front and rear crossmembers. I wanted the extra length of the TT rails, and wanted to be able to bolt in Model A front and rear ends.
    DSCN3189.JPG