Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods T-Bucket headlight mounting options, looking for ideas

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 01mikep, Jul 30, 2014.

1. 01mikep

01mikep
    from California

I recently picked up a 23 T-Bucket project that had been started and shortly after stalled for years. I'm going for a mid sixties drag theme. I've got a good bit of work to do to get this car to look right but one part of the car that just seems wrong are the headlight mounts. I believe they are total performance cast aluminum ones. They sit about three inches out from the side if the model A grill shell and angle out from the frame at a pretty good angle. It looks "bug eyed".

What is a good look for the era I'm shooting for. Please post pictures if you have them.

I'll try and post a picture but I'm still learning how to do that. Not real computer savvy.

Thanks

Mike

2. Just my opinions. The smooth (not finned) aftermarket aluminum stands usually look right on a T, preferably curved and a little swoopy like the Offy stands. The lights themselves should be small either 5" or if you want 7" bulbs use a bucket with a real narrow rim like the Deitz or Arrow lights, the wide rimmed Guides and BLC lights look way too big. You know you should really have a "T" or deuce grille, Model "A" shells don't look right on a T.

3. hrm2k

hrm2k
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I'm doing a T bucket as well. It has a Specialty Cars chassis from back in the early 80's. When I looked at the headlight mounts ( left side of picture ) with light's, I did not like the way it looked............bug eyes would fit very well. I changed the way the mounts fit by moving the headlights in 2 1/2 inches, down about 3 inches and forward 2 inches ( as shown on the right). I think it made the car look a lot better. My mounts are made from 1/4 inch plate and welded to the frame.

new lights combined.jpg

dmc3113 likes this.
  4. steel rebel

steel rebel
    Member Emeritus